When I Grow Up… (preparing for Peace Corps service)

Today has some significance for me personally… but I digress. I start this blah(g) as a means to capture the essence of my Peace Corps experience; and to give my mom updates that I am alive. Here’s to fulfilling the hopes and dreams of a twelve-year old boy who sat mesmerized by a commercial for, “The toughest job you’ll ever love,” and who knew at that moment that… life was calling.

When my PC experience is complete, I hope to look back and say: “It was the best of times, it was the worst of times.”  I will cherish the best of times for they will be the fruits of a cathartic journey of self-renewal; but, I’ll  embrace the worst of times for they will be moments of clarity and fond recollection.

Regardless of how ‘successful’ the next two years are, I’ll know that I took that first step and didn’t stop.  I’ll continue to be spunky and spry into my sunset years until I have “slipped the surly bonds of earth to touch the face of God.” (Today, may we honor the crew of the Space Shuttle Challenger for their dedication, service, and Brave-New-World mentality; they were pioneers on the frontier of discovery).

As I prepare for departure, I keep thinking of the line: “We are protected by the enormity of your stupidity.” For now, naivety and idealism have tempered fear and anxiety. And yet despite my ignorance, and semi-state of bliss, I know there will be adversity. My hardships, vis a vis the billions born without promise, will pale in comparison. Trying to make sense of it all and figure out what makes the world go round could bring one to proclaim: “Stop the world – I want to get off!”  But Life’s too short for detours:

 

~ by Blakely Neff on January 28, 2011.

One Response to “When I Grow Up… (preparing for Peace Corps service)”

  1. You say so much in one little post. But it really sums up what this experience for you is all about.

Leave a Reply

 
